SP Tabletop Games
Welcome To Singapore Polytechnic's very own Tabletop Games Club Forum!

Club Members please sign up so you can get updated with all the announcements and events!
Latest topics
» IS this Forum still Active??
Tue Sep 20, 2016 4:17 am by Jay Wong (kaiserchronik)

» Weiss Schwarz players!
Sat Oct 26, 2013 3:25 pm by vikutaaaaaa

» Dominion
Sat Aug 24, 2013 8:29 am by IIIIIz

» Meetings
Wed Jun 12, 2013 7:13 pm by Aerost

» Favourite Card?
Fri May 24, 2013 10:27 am by Aerost

» New video is up
Thu May 16, 2013 2:47 pm by Jay Wong (kaiserchronik)

» English Decks to loan out
Thu May 16, 2013 2:03 pm by Xenetras2013

» Interdimensional Heroes
Thu May 16, 2013 9:52 am by silferysky

» Creature Swap is so underrated!
Thu May 16, 2013 9:20 am by Trance

December 2017
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Calendar Calendar

Links
Our Facebook Group
free forum

ChatBox

Card Rulings 2; Forbidden Dress VS Cards that target

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Card Rulings 2; Forbidden Dress VS Cards that target

Post  Jay Wong (kaiserchronik) on Tue May 14, 2013 5:27 am

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

Until now there is still misconception about this card, its sound good but there is a loophole and rulings about it. The major problem is known as Chain Link.

Forbidden Dress
Target 1 face-up monster on the field; until the End Phase, that target loses 600 ATK, but it cannot be targeted or destroyed by other card effects.

This is correct.
You summon Monster A, Opponent activates Torrential Tribute, You chain Forbidden Dress

Lets look at it in Chaining Order
Chain Link 1; Opponent activates Torrential Tribute
Chain Link 2; You chain Forbidden Dress

Result; Forbidden Dress resolves first, your Monster cannot be Destroyed by Card effect, Opponent's Torrential Tribute wasted.


However, this is one situation where Forbidden Dress is totally useless.

You summon Monster A, Opponent activates Compulsory Evacuation Device , You chain Forbidden Dress

Lets look at it in Chaining Order
Chain Link 1; Opponent activates Compulsory Evacuation Device
Chain Link 2; You chain Forbidden Dress
Your Monster still return to your hand.

First thing First; let's look at the effect of Compulsory Evacuation Device

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]


Target 1 monster on the field; return that target to the hand.

Notice that I bolded the " ; ", this colon. This means that for Compulsory Evacuation Device to activate it must target a monster first before activating. The "targeting" is not part of the effect, it is a requirement. This is somehow similiar to "paying cost" to activate a card effect.

Using this rule of thumb, the monster is already "targeted", but the effect of "return that target to the hand" has not resolved as the Chian link 2 of Forbidden Dress needs to resolve first.

However, the monster is already "targeted" by Compulsory Evacuation Device so even if Forbidden Dress resolves its effect of " until the End Phase, that target loses 600 ATK, but it cannot be targeted or destroyed by other card effects."
It is already a fultile task.

How can you so-called "cannot target" something that is already "Targeted"?

Cheers



avatar
Jay Wong (kaiserchronik)
Bronze Contributor
Bronze Contributor

Posts : 16
Join date : 2013-05-11
Age : 23

View user profile http://wdf-academy.blogspot.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Card Rulings 2; Forbidden Dress VS Cards that target

Post  Trance on Tue May 14, 2013 6:34 am

yupp! Thats why lance is much better then dress. Though dress can dodge bottomless torrential and dark hole.
[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

Lance FTW!
avatar
Trance
Admin

Posts : 29
Join date : 2011-12-27
Age : 21
Location : Singapore

View user profile http://sptgs.forumotion.net

Back to top Go down

Re: Card Rulings 2; Forbidden Dress VS Cards that target

Post  silferysky on Tue May 14, 2013 8:54 am

Can't another card be chained to the activation of Forbidden Lance? Using that, won't the situation resolve, probably still destroying the monster that was Lanced? Assuming that Lance was used against another card that was designated to destroy/banish the monster in question, then a counter is played against Lance, or another card to target the monster, will it be a 2 for 2, exchanging lance for the first card used against the monster?

And how about damage step? If Lance was used then (Maybe reduce opponent's attack, negate a harmful/annoying effect etc), is it possible to counter it?

________________________
I am : Terence Chan
Avid gamer
Decks (YGO) : EHERO, Darkworld, Spellcasters
Decks (CFV) : Royal Paladin
avatar
silferysky
Bronze Contributor
Bronze Contributor

Posts : 17
Join date : 2013-05-11
Age : 21
Location : Planet Earth

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Card Rulings 2; Forbidden Dress VS Cards that target

Post  Trance on Tue May 14, 2013 9:11 am

If lance is used during the damage step? Only counter trap cards can be activated during damage step to stop lance. Yes if you chain a trap that would destroy the monster as chain link 3, it would resolve first, destroying the monster before the resolution of lance at chain link 2.

________________________
Darren Neo
Verified by Admin
avatar
Trance
Admin

Posts : 29
Join date : 2011-12-27
Age : 21
Location : Singapore

View user profile http://sptgs.forumotion.net

Back to top Go down

Re: Card Rulings 2; Forbidden Dress VS Cards that target

Post  Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum