SP Tabletop Games
Welcome To Singapore Polytechnic's very own Tabletop Games Club Forum!

Club Members please sign up so you can get updated with all the announcements and events!
Latest topics
» IS this Forum still Active??
Tue Sep 20, 2016 4:17 am by Jay Wong (kaiserchronik)

» Weiss Schwarz players!
Sat Oct 26, 2013 3:25 pm by vikutaaaaaa

» Dominion
Sat Aug 24, 2013 8:29 am by IIIIIz

» Meetings
Wed Jun 12, 2013 7:13 pm by Aerost

» Favourite Card?
Fri May 24, 2013 10:27 am by Aerost

» New video is up
Thu May 16, 2013 2:47 pm by Jay Wong (kaiserchronik)

» English Decks to loan out
Thu May 16, 2013 2:03 pm by Xenetras2013

» Interdimensional Heroes
Thu May 16, 2013 9:52 am by silferysky

» Creature Swap is so underrated!
Thu May 16, 2013 9:20 am by Trance

December 2017
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Calendar Calendar

Links
Our Facebook Group
free forum

ChatBox

Card Rulings 1; Effect Veiler VS Skill Drain

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Card Rulings 1; Effect Veiler VS Skill Drain

Post  Jay Wong (kaiserchronik) on Mon May 13, 2013 2:50 am

This is one of the common ruling issues that general public have problem understanding.

First let's see the effect of each individual card

1. Skill Drain; Activate by paying 1000 Life Points. The effects of all face-up monsters on the field are negated while those monsters are face-up on the field (but their effects can still be activated).

2. Effect Veiler; During your opponent's Main Phase: You can send this card from your hand to the Graveyard to target 1 face-up Effect monster your opponent controls; negate that target's effects until the End Phase.

- see above, I can guess some of you do not understand what "(but their effects can still be activated)" for Skill Drain means.
This means that for example; if the effect of a card requires you to pay cost etc by paying lifepoints, milling the top card of your deck to the graveyard, or discard one card from your hand. You pay the cost to "activate" but with Skill Drain on the field, the effect is negated. This rule of thumb also applies to Effect Veiler except for one issue.

Cards that pay the cost by Tributing itself

This is a unique case and major difference between Effect Veiler and Skill Drain

Let's use one card as a example
Stardust Dragon

Effect of this card; 1 Tuner + 1 or more non-Tuner monsters
When a Spell, Trap, Spell/Trap effect, or Effect Monster's effect is activated that destroys a card(s) on the field: You can Tribute this card; negate the activation and destroy it. During the End Phase, if this card negated an effect this way during this turn: You can Special Summon this card from your Graveyard.

Notice the words in bold, the cost is to tribute to activate. This will mean that Stardust Dragon is "not on the field" when it activates its effect. Which menas the effect of Skill Drain does not affect Stardust Dragon as the effect of Skill Drain only specify "The effects of all face-up monsters on the field are negated while those monsters are face-up on the field"

However, Effect Veiler is different. It is what I defined as a "lingering effect", The effect clearly states "negate that target's effects until the End Phase.", notice that it says "negate". This means even if Stardust Dragon pays the cost by tributing and has left the field. Its effect is still negated, it cannot "negate the activation and destroy it" and "Special Summon this card from the graveyard during the End Phase"

The issue is when to use Effect Veiler on Stardust Dragon; The moment when your opponent summons Stardust Dragon, straightaway activate Effect Veiler by discarding it to negate Stardust Dragon's effect, this will potentially stop Stardust Dragon's effect for that turn and your opponent will consider carefully before deciding to attack you in case you have destruction spell/trap cards. Take note you cannot chain Effect Veiler when Stardust Dragon activates its effect as it tribute itself as a cost, before activating its effect. So this means that there will be no Stardust Dragon on the field for Effect Veiler to target and negate.

Oh yeah to add on, you cannot used the effect of Effect Veiler on your Opponent's Main Phase when there is a Skill Drain on the field. Reason being, Monster's effect on the field was already negated so there is no effect for Effect Veiler to negate thus you cannot activate the effect of Effect Veiler.

Cheers


Last edited by Jay Wong (kaiserchronik) on Tue May 14, 2013 4:51 am; edited 2 times in total (Reason for editing : addtional info)
avatar
Jay Wong (kaiserchronik)
Bronze Contributor
Bronze Contributor

Posts : 16
Join date : 2013-05-11
Age : 23

View user profile http://wdf-academy.blogspot.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Card Rulings 1; Effect Veiler VS Skill Drain

Post  Trance on Mon May 13, 2013 12:44 pm

Great job bro Very Happy
because cost is paid upon effect activation.
However, in rescue rabbit's scenario, veiler can be used because rabbit activate its effect on the field
Rabbit will still be banished though hahas

________________________
Darren Neo
Verified by Admin
avatar
Trance
Admin

Posts : 29
Join date : 2011-12-27
Age : 21
Location : Singapore

View user profile http://sptgs.forumotion.net

Back to top Go down

Re: Card Rulings 1; Effect Veiler VS Skill Drain

Post  Jay Wong (kaiserchronik) on Tue May 14, 2013 3:05 am

Banishing Rescue Rabbit is a cost. effect activates in the banished zone. if you say Rescue Rabbit activates its effect on the field; it means Skill Drain affects it. ruling of Rescue Rabbit and Stardust Dragon is the same, the moment these any of these two are summoned, just use Effect Veiler to negate their entire effect for this turn. Rescue Rabbit can still banish itself, that is something you are right about.


Last edited by Jay Wong (kaiserchronik) on Tue May 14, 2013 4:47 am; edited 1 time in total
avatar
Jay Wong (kaiserchronik)
Bronze Contributor
Bronze Contributor

Posts : 16
Join date : 2013-05-11
Age : 23

View user profile http://wdf-academy.blogspot.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Card Rulings 1; Effect Veiler VS Skill Drain

Post  Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum